Burning bridges

Black and blue

you’ve tried to tear me apart,

to devastate my self esteem,

smash my hopeful dreams

and yet,

you still think you have my heart

 

You say this bridge

can’t be burnt

that I’m nothing without you

 

That on my own

to greatness I will never aspire

Well darling,

I’m crossing this bridge

Be my guest: light the match

and set the whole damned thing afire

 

Who cares afterward,

what may transpire?

There’s no looking back

Au revoir!

‘Till death do us part’

has just expired

8 thoughts on “Burning bridges

Leave a Reply

