After the waltz

I feel like sixteen again
Whenever you're around
I smile, I blush inwardly
I just can't let you see
How much more than a friend in you
I've found

But this feeling can never be true
I must hide it away
Bury it deep in my heart
And from what is morally right, far apart
This type of love just cannot stay

So don't smile at me again
And I promise to look away,
To think about actions and consequences
Then around my heart build strong fences
In a memory is where you'll stay
Leave a Reply

